Not Legal Advice: In Connecticut, you may not park within 10 feet of a fire hydrant and 25 feet of a stop sign.
There are many areas (apart from the stop sign and fire hydrant) where you cannot park. Check for signs that may prohibit or limit parking. Some parking restrictions are indicated by colored curb markings. Do not park:
In an intersection.
On a crosswalk or sidewalk.
In a construction area if your vehicle will block traffic.
Within 25 feet of a pedestrian safety zone.
More than one foot from the curb.
Blocking a driveway, alley, private road or area of the curb removed or lowered for access to the sidewalk.
On a bridge or overpass or in a tunnel or underpass.
On the wrong side of the street.
In a space marked for the handicapped, unless you have a handicap license plate or placard.
On the roadside of a parked vehicle (double parking).
On railroad tracks.
Where a sign says you cannot park.
In a bike lane.
To familiarize yourself with the principles of safe and lawful operation of a motor vehicle and to know all the information needed to drive a passenger vehicle in Connecticut, refer to State of Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles Driver’s Manual.
Find info on traffic alerts, 511 traffic systems, vehicle & tire recalls, tips for driving in hazardous conditions, state-specific safety laws and more at DMV.org.