What is the penalty in Florida for Aggravated manslaughter of a child?
Not legal advice: If a person committed aggravated manslaughter, such as manslaughter of a child (is defined as any person under the age of 18) or elderly person by culpable negligence, the state treats the offense as a first degree felony.
Aggravated Manslaughter of a Child is under the Habitual Violent Felony Offender (HVFO) §775.084(1)(B). The state treats the offense as a first degree felony; the potential term of imprisonment is up to 30 years in prison and ineligible for early release during first 10 years of sentence.
Florida laws also need the state to consider the defendant's criminal history and check whether the defendant is a career criminal or habitual violent offender; if proven so, the state may be able to increase the defendant's punishment.
In latest news, according to CNN Attorney General Eric Holder, a longtime target of Republicans who have tried to force him out of office, now faces the prospect of angering liberal supporters when the Justice Department decides whether to file federal charges in the Trayvon Martin killing. Find out more here.