What direction does mt. Rushmore president face east west north or south

The set of four gigantic carved sculptures representing the faces of U.S. Presidents George Washington, Abraham Lincoln, Thomas Jefferson and Theodore Roosevelt is located in Mount Rushmore in South Dakota's Black Hills National Forest and faces southeast for maximum sun exposure.

The project began in 1927 led by the sculptor Gutzon Borglum and was completed in 1941. During the process, 400 workers created the sculpture under dangerous conditions, taking away a total of 450,000 tons of rock in order to create the enormous carved heads, each of which reached a height of 60 feet (18 meters).

Mount Rushmore is also called the "Shrine of Democracy," which welcomes upwards of 2 million visitors every year, and is one of America's most popular tourist attractions.

The Statue of Liberty, the Grand Canyon and Mount Rushmore have found a way around the government shutdown for now and will reopen with the help of state funding. Find out more at CNN.

Mt. Rushmore