What are the four cardinal vital signs?

Not Medical Advice:

The four cardinal vital signs are

  • • Heart Rate
  • • Respiration
  • • Blood Pressure
  • • Temperature

Heart rate is measured in beats per minute; 60-100 is considered normal.

Respiration is the number of breaths per minute; 12-18 is considered normal.

Blood pressure, systolic/diastolic, is measured in millimeters of mercury (mm Hg); 110 to 135/ 65 to 85 is considered normal.

The University of California, San Diego offers tips for taking vital signs in their A Practical Guide to Clinical Medicine.

You may want to know that the global vital signs monitoring market is poised to grow to approximately $4,375 million by 2018.