Is almond milk considered dairy

Not medical advice: No. Almond milk is not considered dairy.

Almond milk is frequently used as a dairy-free alternative for milk. This drink is made from ground almonds, and can be one of the calcium choices for those who do not consume dairy products.

All fluid milk products and many foods made from milk are considered part of the Dairy Group, says USDA

Most Dairy Group choices should be fat-free or low-fat. Foods made from milk that retain their calcium content are part of the group. Foods made from milk that have little to no calcium, such as cream cheese, cream, and butter, are not. Calcium-fortified soymilk (soy beverage) is also part of the Dairy Group.

The amount of food from the Dairy Group you need to eat depends on age. In general, 1 cup of milk, yogurt, or soymilk (soy beverage), 1 ½ ounces of natural cheese, or 2 ounces of processed cheese can be considered as 1 cup from the Dairy Group.

To learn all about the Dairy Group including nutrients and health benefits, visit

Get tips for making wise choices from the Dairy Group at

Updated on Wednesday, May 20 2015 at 10:39AM EDT
Collections: almond milkdairymilkwater