In Ohio... How many people can a 16 year old licensed driver legally have in the car while driving?
Ohio’s teenage drivers now face stricter limits on the number of passengers they can transport and the hours they can drive with new changes in Ohio’s Graduated Driver License law.
The amended changes to Ohio’s Graduated Driver License law took effect Friday, April 6, 2014:
- Adds a passenger limit (no more than one non-family member) for 16-year-olds
- Extends the night-time driving limitation to midnight to 6 a.m. for 16-year-olds
If you’re a teenager applying for your first driver’s license, you’ll need to complete each step of the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) graduated driver licensing (GDL) program. Completing each step of the Ohio GDL program will help you build the skills necessary to pass your DMV road test and become a safe driver.
For more details, visit the Ohio Driver License Information website.