How much money is a DUI in California first offense?
Not Legal Advice: A first offense DUI in the state of California carries a mandatory jail sentence of 4 days up to a maximum of 6 months, a fine of $1400 to $2600, and a license suspension between 30 days and 10 months. Some counties also require the use of an ignition interlock device.
For a second offense, the jail time is 10 days to 1 year, a fine of $1800 to $2800, and a 2-year license suspension. A third offense increases the minimum jail sentence to 120 days, the license suspension to 3 years, and the maximum fine up to $18,000.
Actress Amanda Bynes is in the news after pleading not guilty to a misdemeanor DUI after an April 6 incident in West Hollywood. If convicted, she could face up to six months in jail. Her court date is set for July 18.