How many five star generals have there been

There have been five five-star generals in the US Army since 1944.

The temporary grade of "General of the Army" (five-star) was provided for by Public Law 482, 78th Congress, approved December 14, 1944, and became permanent on March 23, 1946, under provisions of Public Law 333, 79th Congress.

Five-Star Generals and Dates of Rank:

General of the Army George C. Marshall: December 16, 1944

General of the Army Douglas MacArthur: December 18, 1944

General of the Army Dwight D. Eisenhower: December 20, 1944

General of the Army Henry H. Arnold: December 21, 1944 - (Redesignated General of the Air Force pursuant to Public Law 58, 81st Congress, approved May 7, 1949)

General of the Army Omar N. Bradley: September 20, 1950

Additionally, the U.S. Navy maintains its own "Five Star" status in the form of the rank "Fleet Admiral". This rank was awarded to the following men:

William D. Leahy - (15 Dec 1944)

Ernest J. King - (17 Dec 1944)

Chester W. Nimitz - (19 Dec 1944)

William F. Halsey, Jr - (11 Dec 1945)

Only one member of the United States Air Force (then as the "United States Army Air Force") has ever held the rank of 5-star general as "General of the Air Force". Henry H. Arnold also holds the distinction as the only person to ever achieve the 5-star rank in two branches of the U.S. Armed Forces:

For more info, visit and

Monday, August 14 2017