How many division Ia college football teams have a bulldog as their mascot

There are 4 schools in Division I-A football that use a bulldog for a mascot. They are Georgia, Mississippi State, Fresno State and Louisiana Tech.

Division IA is a subset of NCAA’s Division I, and is used for football only, but it is now referred to as the “Football Bowl Subdivision,” while Division I-AA is referred to as “Football Championship Subdivision.” The current Division I-A/Football Bowl Subdivision conferences include the ACC, Big East, Big Ten, Big 12, C-USA, MAC, MW, Pac-12, SEC, Sun Belt and WAC.

Starting in 2014, there will be a four team championship series to determine the NCAA football champions.