How many division 1 college's mascots are the tiger?

Of the 129 major college football teams in Division 1, five schools are nicknamed the Tigers: LSU, Auburn, Clemson, Memphis and Missouri.

See all 129 teams in Division 1 college football's mascots on and

LSU has a live tiger mascot named Mike VI. The first Mike was bought for $750 from a zoo and brought to the LSU campus in 1934. He was named after the man that brought him there, athletic director Chellis Mike Chambers.

Mike VI gets to make the Saturday decision if he wants to get in his trailer and go to the game. Unfortunately, he hasn't wanted to attend them recently. Mike didn't attend any during the 2014 season and only attended one in the 2015 season before being shut down for the season.

And despite major opposition, schools still parade live mascots at sporting events. PETA (People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals) advises schools that still use real animals as mascots to send them to an accredited sanctuary.

Find out the top 25 live animal mascots in college football featured on

Check out an informative list of every FBS and FCS college football team on

Tags: clemsontigermemphismissourifootball 

Related questions