How does the NFL decide which network gets the superbowl each year?

Exclusive television broadcast rights for the Super Bowl rotate among the major American television networks.

In 2011, NFL renewed its media rights deals with all three legacy broadcast partners, signing pacts with NBC, CBS and Fox. It was a nine-year contract that guaranteed an equal division of Super Bowl rights.

The arrangement started after the 2013 season and each deal runs through the end of the 2022 NFL season. These networks were reported to pay as much as $3.2 billion per year - Fox pays the highest amount at around $1.15 billion for its NFC package because NFC teams are in traditionally stronger markets.

Tip! To get the latest updates about the NFL, just visit their Facebook page or follow them on Twitter @NFL.

Tags: nfltelevision 

Related questions